What are BIM Levels? BIM Maturity Levels Explained

bim maturity levels are explained, building information modeling

The notion of ‘BIM Levels’ (and ‘BIM Level 2 compliance’) is now the ‘agreed’ description of what standards are necessary to be regarded BIM-compliant by observing the adoption process.

Governments recognize that converting the construction industry to “full” collaborative working will be a gradual process with distinct and recognisable milestones established in the form of “levels” within that process. These have been assigned a number between 0 and 4, and while the specific significance of each level is debatable, the general idea is as follows:

BIM Level 0

Level 0 effectively signifies no collaboration in its most basic form. Only 2D CAD drafting is used, primarily for Production Data (RIBA Plan of Work 2013 stage 4). Paper or electronic prints, or a combination of both, are used for output and distribution. The vast bulk of the industry is already ahead of the curve on this.

BIM Level 1

This is usually a combination of 3D CAD for idea development and 2D drafting for statutory approval papers and Production Information. CAD standards are handled according to BS 1192:2007, and data is shared electronically through a common data environment (CDE), which is frequently managed by the contractor.

To earn Level 1 BIM, you must meet the following requirements:

·         It’s important to agree on roles and duties.

·         It is recommended that naming conventions be followed.

·         There should be plans in place to generate and maintain project-specific codes as well as project spatial coordination.

·         To permit data to be shared among all members of the project team, a “Common Data Environment” (CDE) such as a project extranet or electronic document management system (EDMS) should be implemented.

·         An appropriate information structure that supports the principles of the CDE and the document repository must be agreed upon.

BIM Level 2

Level 2 BIM is differentiated by collaborative working, and it necessitates “a project-specific information-sharing mechanism that is coordinated between multiple systems and project participants”.

Each party’s CAD software must be able to output to one of the standard file formats, such as IFC (Industry Foundation Class) or COBie (Construction Operations Building Information Exchange).

BIM Level 3

Level 3 of BIM is all about full collaboration, which means that every discipline works together on the same project. It has four dimensions: 4D (construction sequencing), 5D (expense), and 6D (details) (project lifecycle information). Everyone has access to and can edit the data. This is referred to as Open BIM.

BIM Level 4

Level 4 has only recently been introduced, and it incorporates social objectives.

BIMCRONE is a solution that provides service at BIM Level 3, with the ability to access the digital contents of the building from a single environment. With its mobile version, it allows instant reception of construction site data and integration of all data with cloud infrastructure. It allows all users, from the construction site to the technical office, from the contractor to the top management, to access the same data with different authorities.

To learn more about BIMCRONE and how it can help you optimize your construction process, please contact us!